Gift Planning Fundamentals

This online opportunity is a perfect opportunity for fundraisers, C-Suite leaders of small organizations, Executive Directors, and those working in rural and remote communities who do not have the opportunity to travel to a large urban centre to take the training in-person to access this full curriculum of learning. This interactive online program will take place over two half-days and space is limited in order to facilitate a meaningful learning experience.

Recently when our charity engaged a group of advisors I was called to have conversations about client philanthropy. I was surprised at how confident I felt answering their questions, and I know it was because of taking the CAGP Gift Planning Fundamentals course. I really enjoyed being able to share the strategy of gift planning with them, and wouldn’t have been able to do so without the course. Thank you CAGP for everything you do to promote strategic philanthropy in Canada”.

Ash Hunkin, Development Officer: Legacy Giving. Royal Columbian Hospital Foundation


Whether you are new to gift planning or in need of a solid refresher, the CAGP Foundation's Gift Planning Fundamentals is a one-day introductory course in person, or two half-days online, that will give you the boost you need to thrive in your career. 

Topics include:

This course can be exclusively tailored to your organization. Click here for more details.


Upcoming Presentations

Gift Planning Fundamentals ONLINE

paul_nazareth_photo_2018-cropped.pngJoin CAGP's VP, Education and Development, Paul Nazareth, MFA-P for the next two installments of Gift Planning Fundamentals taking place in November 2021. For the convenience of folks across the various time zones, we offer one day based on western time zones and one day based on eastern time zones. Everyone across the country is welcome to register for either course. 

Cost (tax-exempt):
CAGP Members: $425 / Non-members: $475

What is included?

  • Two half-days of interactive learning
  • All the course materials and resources
  • Unique networking opportunities with other fundraisers and professional advisors
  • CE Credits: 7 CFRE credits; 7 MFA-P credits; 7 Institute credits 

Dates: Tuesday, November 2 & Wednesday, November 3, 2021

Location: Online

Times:
Atlantic Time Zone: 10:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.
Eastern Time Zone: 9:00 a.m. - 1:30 p.m.
Central Time Zone: 8:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
Mountain Time Zone: 7:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
Pacific Time Zone: 6:00 a.m. - 10:30 a.m.

*Please note this course is best taken by those in Eastern Canada, but all are welcome to join from across the country.

Download the Agenda

Register Now (East)


Western Canada (all are welcome from across the country)

Dates: Monday, November 8 & Tuesday, November 9, 2021
Location: Online
Times:

Pacific Time Zone: 9:00 a.m. - 1:30 p.m.
Mountain Time Zone: 10:00 a.m. - 2:30 pm.
Central Time Zone: 11:00 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.
Eastern Time Zone: 12:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Atlantic Time Zone: 1:00 p.m.. - 5:30 p.m.

Download the Agenda

Register Now (West)


If you have questions about this online version of Gift Planning Fundamentals, please contact Erin Kuhns, Manager, Education and Training at ekuhns@cagp-acpdp.org.

Are you unsure about where to begin or which course is right for you? We have two recommendations for you:

Our Professional Development Roadmap is a helpful guide for gift planners and fundraisers in their journey to becoming a successful charitable gift planner.

This Course Descriptions document contains a brief description of each of our 4 courses in one place, to help you decide which is the right fit for you at this point in your career.


Full participation in Gift Planning Fundamentals is applicable for 7 points in Category 1.B – Education of the CFRE International application for initial certification and/or recertification. Remember! As a CAGP member, you receive a 20% discount off of your CFRE certification or recertification!

 

This course offers 7 hours credit for MFA-P re-certification.


Need a little more convincing? Read what our past attendees had to say:

“If you want to know what the rules are and the trends - this session is great.” - 2017 Attendee

“The knowledge and practical experience by the presenters far exceeded my expectation. ” - 2017 Attendee

"I learned so much in this one-day course that I felt I had a week's worth of information.  The presenters were excellent and very engaging.  It was well worth the time and money." - Marie Miller, Queen's University

"The CAGP Gift Planning Fundamentals course was everything I needed as a new planned giving fundraiser to plan and market a brand new gift planning program and to gain confidence in soliciting gifts from our valued donors.  As a small town fundraiser, I know that some of the gift planning tools will rarely, if ever, be utilised or desired from our donors, so I also appreciated that the most advantageous and commonly used tools were focused on in the course.  Thank you very much to the planners, hosts and of course, the presenters for volunteering their valuable time preparing and presenting the content."  - Chelsea McIntyre, District Memorial Hospital Foundation


Gift Planning Fundamentals Cancellation Policy

  • Up to 14 days before the course: Full refund or credit that is good for up to one year
  • 7 - 14 days before the course: Credit that is good for up to one year
  • Within 7 days of the course: No refund*

*Note: You may transfer your registration to another team member within your organization at any time. There is a $75 administration charge plus any difference between member and non-member pricing, if applicable.

All cancellations must be received in writing.

CAGP Foundation reserves the right to amend or cancel the event.

If an event has to be cancelled or rescheduled we will contact you as soon as possible to notify you of the change. You will be offered an alternative date or a full refund.

In the event of a cancellation, we will not reimburse travel, accommodation or other costs related to the event.


For more information, contact Erin Kuhns, Manager, Education and Training:
1-888-430-9494 Ext. 222 or email ekuhns@cagp-acpdp.org.


This education session is offered by:

cagp_fdn_logo.jpg

 
;